The BAS project Tubakuba nominated for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2015.

BAS is very proud to announce that the student project Tubakuba at Fløyen has been nominated for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture-Mies van der Rohe Award 2015. Tubakuba was built by the 2nd year students during the academic year 2013/14. The project was financed by GC Rieber Funds and built in close cooperation with the Bergen Municipality.

For more information about Tubakuba, have a look here. The following students and teachers have been involved in this project: 

Students: Ida Helen Skogstad, Bent Brørs, Adrian Højfeldt, Eivind Lechbrandt, Gunnar Sørås, Alice Guan, Luise Storch, Eline Moe Eidvin, Shepol Barzan, Øyvind Kristiansen, Stein Atle Juvik, Eva Bull, Kristian Bøysen, Sondre Bakken, 

Teachers: Espen Folgerø, Håvard Austvoll, Sigurdur Gunnarsson, Hans Christian Elstad

About the Prize:
Launched in 1987, this Prize is co-funded by the EU Culture Programme and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe. By highlighting excellent architectural works that have been constructed over the last two years, the Prize draws attention to the contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies, as well as the cultural importance of architecture in the construction of our cities.

Candidates for the Prize are put forward by a broad group of independent experts from all over Europe; the associations that are members of the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE), as well as other national architects associations; and the institutions that form part of the Advisory Committee for the Prize.

At each biennial edition, the jury selects two works: one that receives the Prize and the other the Emerging Architect Special Mention, both in recognition of their conceptual, technical and constructional qualities. The jury also selects a set of shortlisted works to be included in the catalogue publication and travelling exhibition.

The Prize is endowed with 60,000 €, while the Special Mention consists of a cash prize of 20,000 €. The winners are also awarded a sculpture designed by Catalan artist Xavier Corberó inspired by the columns of the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona, symbol of the Prize and one of the 20th century’s major architectural works.

Find out more at